6 August 2017 | Manila Philippines

On 4 August 2017 in Manila, Secretary Alan Peter S. Cayetano chaired the Meeting of the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone (SEANWFZ) Commission, which reached the decision to extend the implementation of the “Plan of Action (POA) to Implement the SEANWFZ Treaty” through 2022. The five-year POA of the SEANWFZ Treaty is expiring this year after it was adopted in 2013.

In his intervention, Secretary Cayetano underscored the Philippines’ support for the full implementation of the SEANWFZ Treaty, consistent with the region’s goal of preserving the region as a Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone and ensuring the safety of the peoples of ASEAN.

The SEANWFZ Commission is composed of ASEAN Foreign Ministers with the task of overseeing the implementation of the SEANWFZ Treaty.

© 2017 Copyright - ASEAN 2017 | ASEAN.ORG
Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the latest updates on ASEAN 2017.